Showing posts with label Monthly Subscription. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Monthly Subscription. Show all posts

Saturday, March 14, 2015

It's been a while!

It seems like it has been forever (it doesn't just seem, it has been) since I last had a post and ironically, I think I was busier then than I am now?

Since the last post I passed the NCLEX and got a job as an RN on a busy telemetry floor, and - well there is no and - I haven't really done anything else!  After being in nursing school for 2 years and having to constantly study or prepare for clinicals,  I kind of like just going to work and coming home.  There's really no preparing for your next shift ahead of time - except getting sleep!

Since I mentioned the NCLEX, I figure I should go into a little bit more detail.  The one major thing to note is that it is a very very very stressful event.  I know every teacher will tell you to calm down, take your time blah blah blah, but it's kind of hard to do that when you have been preparing 2 or 4 years for this moment (and had to pay a lot of money just to sign up for the test). AND you have a job offer riding on passing, and it would be totally humiliating to call your future boss and be like "Um ya, I failed, still want to hire me after I take this test again?"  My stressful experience was exacerbated by this:

While I was waiting outside the door to the testing center, a girl comes up with a bag full of food.  I was in the zone and didn't want to talk to anyone so I was a jerk and stood with my head down and didn't make any eye contact.  An older gentleman walks up and makes a comment to her about how she looks like she's in it of the long haul.  She replies with "ya, I am taking the NCLEX and it can last for up to 6 hours so I brought snacks." After this, I decided it wouldn't be too bad to talk to someone who is going through the exact same emotions that I am, so I broke the ice with something like "NCLEX? me too, when did you graduate?"  She replied with "December (2013, it was September 2014), this is my 3rd time taking the test, I am trying out  a new strategy so don't get frazzled if you hear me coming and going every 15 minutes or so during the test."  Then my stomach sank to the floor and I got even more nervous than I was before!  Her third time?  UGGHHHH!!!

Moral of the story: DO NOT TALK TO ANYONE AT THE TESTING CENTER!

Anyways, I felt even worse when the computer shut off.  I finished in about an hour and 10 minutes, got 75 questions exactly, thought my last question was super super easy and convinced myself that I failed.  Then I felt even more confident that I failed when I walk into the lobby and who is sitting there munching away?  Miss 3rd time!  So I cried on my way home, while my husband is trying to convince me that I passed and that the last question type that I got statistically meant that I passed (according to google - and they are always right, right?).  We all know I passed (kind of gave that away above), but it is just so nerve wracking having to wait for your test results. I went over every question that I could remember in my head for 2 days, and focused on the ones I knew I got wrong, which convinced me even more that I failed.  I wish they could just give them to you right then and there!!!


I think that's all I have for now, I still am subscribed to ipsy, boxycharm and fab fit fun vip, although I think I might cancel some or all of them, I have so much makeup and samples and crap that I am overflowing, and the 31.00 per month for ipsy/boxycharm and 200/year for fabfitfun can be put towards a new vehicle for me.....which I desperately want!  As long as I continue to get these I will try to put up review posts.  I also want to put up a post about the MAC Cinderella collection, and maybe one about a few new things I got from E.L.F, and some product reviews/raves about a few things that I found that I think are now holy grail status for me.


If you made it this far, thanks for reading!

Thursday, May 22, 2014

Dishwasher update and Julep Maven Box...

So, I submitted a new service request online via Samsung's website.  The confirmation page said you will be contacted by phone or e-mail within 24 hours.  That call or e-mail never came.  Interestingly enough, I did get a phone call from a Service Quick rep wanting to know how my experience was with my repair.  I let him know that it worked once and then stopped, then told him that I talked to the manager at Lowe's and he said bring it on back and we will refund your money. The rep was so shocked that Lowe's would take it back, he literally was stuttering and had nothing to say but have a nice day.

I love Lowe's.  All of my major appliances along with countless other things around the house (and outside too) have come from there.  I've never had to return anything, but I found that the process was so smooth - even without having my receipt.  All they needed was the date of purchase and their item number (which you can find on their website).  They took back the P.O.S. Samsung, no questions asked and helped me pick out a different brand with all the bells and whistles.

The new dishwasher is a Whirlpool Gold and it is Amazing! Our refrigerator is also a Whirlpool Gold, and our washer and dryer are the Whirlpool Cabrio Platinums.  They are all at least 2 years old and are still going strong (with no service needed), so I felt really comfortable purchasing this brand.

It matches my microwave and refrigerator (we still have a black and white stove, but hopefully a new one is in the future!).  It has top controls, which I am not crazy about since the way it sits under my counter makes them impossible to use once the door is closed, but I will deal with it and figure out a way to make it work.  It has a bunch of different cycle options, a sanitize cycle, and even a top rack only wash cycle - what the what??  

I (Me, All By Myself) installed this.  We already had the rough in with the water line, drain hook-up and power line, but I connected the wires, hooked up the drain hose and water line and put it in it's place all by myself!!  Hubby came home and was a little shocked and really happy that he didn't have to install a dishwasher for the 3rd time in just as many months.  My kitchen is now completely clean again, no more paper plates, plastic utensils or solo cups.  The dishwasher has ran more times in the past 3 days than the Samsung did the whole 2 weeks that I had it. Moral of the story:  Samsung is good for phones but not so much for dishwashers.......

On a totally different subject - I have a new Julep Maven box coming soon!  I am super excited for this months box.  The colors in my style are so pretty and I chose a few add on colors including a mystery bombshell color.  Here's what I'm getting this month:

This is the Boho Glam box this month - how Gorgeous are these colors??


This is Kayla: An Electric Iris Sheer with with Violet Sheen

This is Phoebe:  A Vibrant Jungle Metallic

I. Can. Not. Wait. to get this box and try out all of these colors!  I will probably use the two from the Boho Glam Box together and Kayla and Phoebe together, one all over with the other as an accent nail.  I'm super excited to see what my mystery color will be.  Can it be in my mailbox tomorrow please?

If you want to subscribe to the Julep Maven Box, click here.   They just started a new "Pick Your Own Box" subscription that ranges from 24.99 to 39.99 per month ($5.00 cheaper each month if you purchase a 3 month subscription).  Check out their blog to learn all about this exciting new service!



Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Subscription Box Series: Wantable!

Guess what came in the mail today?  My Wantable Intimates Subscription Box!  I am so excited to open it and see what I got!   For those of you who don't know, Wantable is a monthly subscription box that retails for $49.99 per month.  You can choose from 3 different types of boxes, Beauty, Accessories or Intimates.  You can pick one, or get all three (for $49.99 each).  Once you subscribe, you go through a questionnaire and tell them what you "Love", "Like" and "Dislike".  They also ask sizes, weight, height and color family and styles.

 I decided to order the intimates box because I saw a few boxes on youtube and they had some really nice stuff, one person got this cute little romper/sleeper, a cute pair of betsy johnson sleep shorts and a pretty lace trimmed blue camisole, this had my hopes up to get something like this too!

Warning!!  As this is the intimates box, there will be pics of undies that I got........

Here's what the box looks like when it arrives and the paper that tells you what you got and what it's worth...

Here's What the box looks like when it arrives

Here's the packing list that tells you the retail price of the items.

Here's what I got....


This is a Mimi Bandeau by Miel in Coral.  I think this would be cute in the summer maybe under a backless shirt that coordinates.  Retail Price is Listed at $25.00 .  I have never heard of this brand, and would never ever spend $25 on a Bandeau.......


Whimsy by Lunaire Bikini.  These are lace/mesh.  Cute undies, but they are Hi-Cut, so they look huge and probably will come up a little too high on my waist for my liking.  Retail Price is Listed at $16.00, but the tag on the undies says $18.00.  I have also never heard of this brand, and this isn't really something I would ever purchase for myself.  I'm more of a cotton boyshort/bikini type when it comes to undies!  I would also never spend $18 on ONE pair of undies!!



Lily Cheekie Boyshort by Yummie Tummie in Pink (I know it looks kind of coral in the pic, but it's more of a darker pink.).  I am kind of excited for these, they are supposed to be a tummy shaper, and they help me fit into my dress pants a little better, I'm all for it! The only problem I have is the color, I wish it was a neutral or white color so it could be worn under lighter colors too.   Retail price is listed at $18.00.  I think this is a fair price for a "shaper".  I'll keep you updated on if it actually shapes!



Cotton Slub Crew Neck in Antique Jade by PimaTee.  The shirt looks small for an XL, but maybe it's supposed to fit tight?  It's a crew neck t-shirt, what else can I say about it?  Maybe I'll wear it to work out or sleep?  Retail price is listed at $9.99.  



So, what do I think of this box?  I am not impressed at all.  When I saw what other people were getting, I was super excited!  But this was kind of a let down. I don't know if I'll keep this subscription going or not...I might try one more month but change my "Loves and Likes and Don't Send".  I don't know if in the real world, I would have paid the retail price for any of these items, except maybe the shaper.  I have never heard of any of these brands either so I can't say anything about quality. 

Do you get this box?  Let me know in the comments what you got and if you like it!